What it's for
The fastest way to get an answer with links you can check.
- Cited research
- Fact-finding
- Source discovery
Plans and prices
| Plan | Price (USD unless shown) | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Basic search with cited answers |
| Pro | $17/mo (billing period not stated) | Bonus credits; choice of models |
| Max | $167/mo (billing period not stated) | Larger credit allowance |
Read on the official pricing page on . Prices change; check before you buy.
Free plan in real output
Free search with cited answers. The billing period for paid prices wasn't labelled in our capture (the page was read from Brazil, but showed USD).
- Free: enough for cited quick research and fact-finding.
- Pro adds model choice and more advanced searches.
Cost at your stage
| Plan | Monthly cost | |
|---|---|---|
| Month 1 (testing, low volume) | Free | $0 |
| Month 12 (working volume) | Pro | $17 |
Break-even: Pro at $17/mo is covered by one research hour billed to a client.
Month-12 plan is our estimate of what a solo seller at steady weekly output needs, based on the plan limits above. Costs exclude tax.
Commercial use and output rights
Ownership with conditions
“The Company does not claim any ownership in Your Content; provided that, the Company or its affiliates and their respective licensors own and will continue to own the Services and any and all other software or technology that was used to generate any Output.”
Your data and AI training: Not checked.
This is a summary of public terms, not legal advice. Terms change; re-read the clause before client work.
First-hour setup
- Ask a specific question.
- Open the cited sources.
- Use follow-ups to narrow.
- Save useful threads.
- Verify numbers on the original page.
Competitors compared
| Tool | Pricing model | Free plan | Starting price | Difficulty | Output rights | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Perplexity | Free plan + paid plans | Yes | $0 · then $17/mo (billing period not stated) | 1/5 | Ownership with conditions | Fast cited research |
| ChatGPT | Free plan + paid plans | Yes | $0 · then $20/mo (Plus); Go: USD price not published for our region | 1/5 | You own or may use output commercially | All-purpose drafting, research and analysis |
| Claude | Free plan + paid plans | Yes | $0 · then $20/mo, or $17/mo billed yearly ($200 upfront) | 1/5 | You own or may use output commercially | Long documents, careful writing and code |
| Gemini | Free plan + paid plans | Yes | See official site | 1/5 | – | Google Workspace users |
| Grok | Free plan + paid plans | Yes | See official site | – | – | Real-time news and X trends |
Learning difficulty
1/5: Search box with cited answers.
When not to use it
For long writing and editing, ChatGPT or Claude is better.
Cheaper or free alternatives:
Which of our hustles use it
None of our research notes use it yet.
Price history
Each monthly check adds rows here. Older rows are never edited, so you can see when prices changed.
Sources
- Perplexity Pro (read 17 October 2026)
- Perplexity Terms (read 17 October 2026)
Last verified . Anything we couldn't confirm on an official page is marked "not published", "not shown" or "not verified".