What it's for
Two of our notes use it for lead lists and personalization; it pulls from many data providers in one table.
- Lead enrichment
- Research at scale
- Personalization for cold email
Plans and prices
| Plan | Price (USD unless shown) | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 500 actions/mo; 100 data credits/mo; up to 200 rows per table |
| Launch | $167/mo (billing period not stated) | Starts at 15,000 actions/mo; data credits from 2,500/mo; 14-day trial |
| Growth | $446/mo (billing period not stated) | Starts at 40,000 actions/mo; data credits from 6,000/mo |
| Enterprise | Custom |
Read on the official pricing page on . Prices change; check before you buy.
Free plan in real output
Free includes 500 actions and 100 data credits a month, with tables up to 200 rows. Actions and data credits are priced separately on paid plans; the page offers annual billing at 10% off.
- Free: 100 data credits a month enriches a small test list, enough to learn the workflow, not to serve a client.
- Launch: actions start at $54–60/mo and data credits from $113–125/mo depending on billing; the $167 headline is the combined starting point.
Cost at your stage
| Plan | Monthly cost | |
|---|---|---|
| Month 1 (testing, low volume) | Free | $0 |
| Month 12 (working volume) | Launch | $167 |
Break-even: Launch at $167/mo is covered by one $500 list-building client a month, with room to spare.
Month-12 plan is our estimate of what a solo seller at steady weekly output needs, based on the plan limits above. Costs exclude tax.
Commercial use and output rights
Not a content generator. A data and enrichment platform; data use is governed by Clay's and providers' terms.
Your data and AI training: Not checked.
This is a summary of public terms, not legal advice. Terms change; re-read the clause before client work.
First-hour setup
- Start with a free table and import 50 companies.
- Add one enrichment (e.g., find a contact) and check the credit cost.
- Add a formula column for a personalized first line.
- Export to your sending tool.
- Only upgrade once a client pays for volume.
Competitors compared
| Tool | Pricing model | Free plan | Starting price | Difficulty | Output rights | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clay | Free plan + paid plans | Yes | $0 · then $167/mo (billing period not stated) | 4/5 | Not a content generator | Researched, enriched lead lists |
| Apollo.io | Free plan + paid plans | Yes | $0 · then $49/user/mo billed annually | 2/5 | Not a content generator | Finding B2B contacts |
| Hunter | Free plan + paid plans | Yes | See official site | 1/5 | – | Finding a person's work email |
| Instantly | Paid plans only | Trial only | $47/mo (monthly) | 2/5 | Not a content generator | Running cold email campaigns |
| NeverBounce | Pay as you go | No | See official site | – | – | Cleaning a list before sending |
Learning difficulty
4/5: Waterfalls, formulas and credits are complex.
When not to use it
If you just need contact emails, Apollo is simpler and cheaper.
Cheaper or free alternatives:
Which of our hustles use it
- AI cold-email setup service: Lead lists and enrichment for personalization
- Lead generation with AI research: Enrichment and buying-signal research
Price history
Each monthly check adds rows here. Older rows are never edited, so you can see when prices changed.
Sources
- Clay pricing (read 17 October 2026)
Last verified . Anything we couldn't confirm on an official page is marked "not published", "not shown" or "not verified".