What it's for
Notion templates are a hustle in their own right, and our VA and consulting notes use it for client boards.
- Building templates to sell
- Client portals and task boards
- Wikis and SOPs
Plans and prices
| Plan | Price (USD unless shown) | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | For individuals; trial of Notion AI |
| Plus | $10 per seat/mo (billing period not stated) | For small teams |
| Business | $20 per seat/mo (billing period not stated) | Notion AI and more |
| Notion credits | $10 per 1,000 monthly credits | Free to try, then paid |
Read on the official pricing page on . Prices change; check before you buy.
Free plan in real output
The Free plan is for individuals and includes a trial of Notion AI. The page shows a block storage limit on Free for teams; the exact number wasn't on the page we read.
- For a solo template seller, Free covers building and duplicating templates. Buyers duplicate them into their own workspace at no cost to you.
Cost at your stage
| Plan | Monthly cost | |
|---|---|---|
| Month 1 (testing, low volume) | Free | $0 |
| Month 12 (working volume) | Free | $0 |
Break-even: Most template sellers never need to pay. Plus only matters if you collaborate.
Month-12 plan is our estimate of what a solo seller at steady weekly output needs, based on the plan limits above. Costs exclude tax.
Commercial use and output rights
Not a content generator. Templates you build are your work; selling them is common practice. Notion's terms weren't quoted here.
Your data and AI training: Not checked.
This is a summary of public terms, not legal advice. Terms change; re-read the clause before client work.
First-hour setup
- Create a free workspace.
- Build a template with linked databases.
- Duplicate it into a test workspace to check it works for a buyer.
- Share a public duplicate link.
- Sell it via Gumroad or Etsy.
Competitors compared
| Tool | Pricing model | Free plan | Starting price | Difficulty | Output rights | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Notion | Free plan + paid plans | Yes | $0 · then $10 per seat/mo (billing period not stated) | 2/5 | Not a content generator | Client portals, templates and wikis |
| Obsidian | Free plan + paid plans | Yes | See official site | 2/5 | – | A private second brain |
| ClickUp | Free plan + paid plans | Yes | See official site | 3/5 | – | One app for everything |
| Airtable | Free plan + paid plans | Yes | $0 · then $20/seat/mo billed annually ($24 monthly) | 2/5 | Not a content generator | Organizing client and product data |
| Google Docs | Free | Yes | Free | – | – | Drafting and client review |
| Evernote | Free plan + paid plans | Yes | See official site | – | – | Clipping and finding notes |
| Mem | Free plan + paid plans | Yes | See official site | – | – | Notes without folders |
Learning difficulty
2/5: Pages are easy; relational databases and formulas take practice.
When not to use it
Not for heavy spreadsheets or accounting; use Google Sheets or Airtable.
Cheaper or free alternatives:
- Obsidian: A private second brain (yes free plan)
- ClickUp: One app for everything (yes free plan)
- Airtable: Organizing client and product data (yes free plan)
- Google Docs: Drafting and client review (yes free plan)
Which of our hustles use it
- Notion templates with AI: Building the templates
- Virtual assistant using AI: Client task boards
- AI consulting for a specific industry: Assessment reports and client wikis
Price history
Each monthly check adds rows here. Older rows are never edited, so you can see when prices changed.
Sources
- Notion pricing (read 17 October 2026)
Last verified . Anything we couldn't confirm on an official page is marked "not published", "not shown" or "not verified".